Winter’s Journey into the Underworld

Saturday, November 4 to January 29 • 11:00 am - Noon on the American East Coast

SOME OTHER TIME ZONES:

8 am in California

6 am in Hawaii

4 pm in London & Dublin

5 pm in Copenhagen & Cape Town

6 pm in Moscow & Jerusalem

8:30 pm in New Delhi & Mumbai

*11:00 am to 12 Noon - This seminar is primarily a tutorial.  If there is one registrant, we meet for 20 minutes. If there are two, we meet for 40 minutes. If there are 3 to 7 participants, we meet for 60 minutes.

What is the Underworld? Just a scary place, or more?  It is the unconscious part of us that may reveal itself in nightmares… the dark of night… the gloom of winter… in the depths of crypts, caves, pits, and cellars.

Are we afraid of these places?  Only if we close our eyes when we arrive there.  Then the uderworld remains unknown, and we are unable to navigate our way through darkness and death and back into light and life.

cerberus3

Storytelling has always been the powerful tool for mapping our way through these shadowlands.  Our most ancient myths are of heroes and shamans who teach us how to take the journey… and return with the treasures we have discovered there.  Be not afraid.

This seminar, starting with the Celtic Winter Quarter of the year (November 1, the Gaelic feast of Samhain or Halloween) — is a three month journey to Sumeria, Egypt, Greece, Mexico, Finland, Siberia, Hawaii, Poland, and England.  Each places holds a dazzling tale of a unique journey to the Underworld.

img_3034

With storytelling, artwork, music, drama, and our creative imaginations we journey through winter to the Spring Quarter (February 1, Brigid of Ireland’s feast of Imbolc) and the return of Light and Life.

The ancient Greeks believed that Boreas, the North Wind of Winter, carried tales from the dark places to the warm hearths where listeners gathered. Today, Boreas’ wind is electronic… and all these tales can blow into our storytelling circle. 

boreas

Come join us around this hearth where the flames of the fire dances… and warms our souls.

— Robert Béla Wilhelm

Bob Wilhelm at Hay-Adams

Our Weekly Online Schedule

November 4 •  Class 1 • The Geography of the Underworld among the peoples of the world. The archetypal nature of the Underworld. Why we need to visit the Underworld in our stories and dreams...

November 11 •  Class 2 • The Skills needed for the descent are found in the classical Shamanism of the peoples of Siberia. What to expect.  How to deal with the Unexpected.  The purpose of the journey in our own lives...

November 18 •  Class 3 • The Ancient Near Eastern epic of Gilgamesh...

November 25  American Thanksgiving - no seminar

December  2 •  Class 4 • The Classical Greek myths and mysteries: Orpheus, Eurydice, Demeter and others...

December  9 •  Class 5 • Journey to the Underworld in Mesoamerica:  Mayan, Aztec and other myths...

December  16 • My 50th Wedding Anniversary - no seminar

December 23 •  Class 6 • The Finnish epic of the Kalevala and the descent into the Underworld...

December 30 •  Class 7 • A Polynesian journey through the depths of the Pacific with stories, songs and chants...

January 6 •  Class 8 • A 17th century Enlightment journey through the short story cycle of Leon Garfield;s “The Apprentices"

January 12 •  Class 9 • A Modern journey through the Holocaust, with “moments of reprieve”, the short stories of Primo Levi...

January 29 • Class 10 • Ancient Egyptian and Hebrew tales and myths from the Book of Genesis on the descent into the Land of the Dead...

February 5 • Open date for reschedulin

If you have questions, or would like to register, please contact us here: 

How to Register:

Tuition for the ten sessions is $600.







© Robert Bela Wilhelm 2016